Why is the cheese you use not vegetarian?

The aim of unearthed® is to source authentic products and ingredients, however this does restrict us somewhat when it comes to vegetarian status. Some varieties of cheese such as Parmesan and Grana Padano hold what is known as a PDO (protected designation of origin). This means that in order to be called e.g. Parmesan, they must be made to very prescriptive traditional recipes and methods, and in these cases have to be prepared using animal rennet.

Even without a specific PDO requirement, many continental cheeses are still made using animal rennet, most varieties of Pecorino, Gouda, Ricotta and Provolone for example.

Ricotta is produced using the whey left over from cheese production, so while no rennet is added in the manufacturing process, its vegetarian status will depend on the type of rennet used during the production of the original cheese curds.

Thank you!

We’ll continue to keep you up to date on all of our latest news and offers.

Newsletter

If you fancy, you can have a little read through our privacy policy here.

Visit our homepage

Thank you for
signing up!

We’ll be in touch shortly

Newsletter

Keep Browsing